Dinner By Dagny

Not just food, food with flavor

Barbacoa Beef

I have a crockpot and a stove top pressure cooker, but my mother-in-law got me a new One Pot combined pressure cooker/crockpot electric with sautéing functionality too. At first I couldn’t figure out how it would fit into my kitchen tools, but after figuring out that I could brown the meat in the same pot as I slow or fast cook the meal, it became more clear in my mind. I stumbled across this barbacoa beef recipe online and decided I would use it.

I got a bit of a late start this morning so used the One Pot. The chuck roast I had was only 3.5 lbs so I had to modify the recipe and would actually modify it a bit further so I’ve included my notes below.

Ingredients:

3.5 lb beef roast

1 onion

1 medium bunch cilantro

1/2 head of garlic

1/2 can chipotle peppers in adobo sauce

1/4 cup cider vinegar

1/2 teaspoon cloves

1/2 tablespoon salt

Juice of 2 limes

1-2 cups beef stock (I used 3 cups and it was too much. Next time I will use 1-2 cups beef stock)

3 bay leaves

Adobo

Tools:

Blender

Crock pot or pressure cooker or One Pot, depending on availability and time

Directions:

  1. Rough chop onions and blend (in blender) with cilantro, garlic, chipotle peppers, vinegar, cloves, salt & limes
  2. Cut meat into a few pieces to fit best in pot
  3. Season meat with Adobo
  4. Coat meat with blended ingredients by pouring blended ingredients over meat in pot, or rotating meat through ingredients
  5. Pour in beef stock
  6. Toss in bay leaves
  7. Cook on low in crock pot for 10 hours (I cooked it on low for 7 hours but it needed more time so I pressure cooked it for 20 minutes additional minutes on high.)
  8. Serve in tacos, or over rice

Results:

I was too busy cooking and eating to take pictures on this one. I liked this as an alternative to Ropa Vieja and Green Chili Pork. It had the flavors of chipotle and acid. My younger daughter didn’t like this, but she doesn’t like anything with Chili powder or chipotle. I’m still waiting for the opinion of my husband and older daughter so the verdict is still out as to whether I’ll make it again.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment