Dinner By Dagny

Not just food, food with flavor

Potato Latkes

We are the proud beneficiary of all the potatoes and carrots from our friend’s CSA basket. Due to allergies she can’t eat them, and her husband is incredibly supportive and sacrifices with her. The downside though, is the week after Thanksgiving everyone is a little bit tired of the regular mashed, steamed or baked potatoes. After watching the potato pancakes made on chopped, I decided to try something new. The recipe at the Smitten Kitchen helped.

Ingredients

6 small potatoes (~1 1/3 pounds)

1 small onion

2 eggs

1/4 cup flour

salt and pepper to taste

Directions

1. Peel potatoes and onions

2. Grate potatoes and onions (note – if I make these again, I’m going to pull out the food process and use the shredding attachment

20121130-113106.jpg

3. Wrap potatoes and onions in cheesecloth or lightweight clean dish towel

4. Wring out excess water

5. Meanwhile, whisk the 2 egss and mix in flour

6. Add in potato and onion mixture

20121130-113115.jpg

7. Form into patties (I experimented with different size spoons. The tablespoon worked better)

8. Saute in large saucepan over medium high heat until golden brown (the recipe said 1-2 minutes, but mine took 2-3 to crisp up)

20121130-113127.jpg

Results

20121130-113134.jpg

Obviously, I had to try them when they were finished. I adjusted the size of them after the first round and they turned out better. For dinner, I served them with kielbasa and then I had leftovers with a sunny side egg. I liked them and my oldest daughter said they were a hit (although she smothered them in hot sauce, as she does everything so I don’t know if that detracts from her opinion). My youngest disliked them, even covered in ketchup and my husband was indifferent. This might be designated as a brunch item for guests.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

