Dinner By Dagny

Not just food, food with flavor

Broiled Steak and Roasted Corn on the Cob

What does one do while you are anxiously awaiting your kids return from their vacation, and your husband being busy for the evening?  Well, I find some new cooking techniques to use.  One could argue that broiling and roasting are not new, but I usually boil my corn and grill my steaks.  I have grilled my corn, where you soak the corn husks so they don’t burn, and then the corn steams in the husks.  Unfortunately my grill is broken.  I have a grill pan, that I use pretty regularly but that usually makes my house pretty smoky.  With the weather over 100 degrees this week, that wasn’t quite what I was looking for.  Although I’m not sure turning my ovens on was a better alternative.

Ingredients

2 steaks (these were NY strip)

1 corn on the cob

Roasted Corn

A little internet searching told me that roasting corn is amazingly simple.

1.  Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees and roast in husks for 30 minutes.

That’s it. The silk removes easily, the husks don’t burn and the corn is pleasantly steamed.  Your inner child will enjoy it too as you can use the husk as a handle.

Broiled Steaks

1.  Bring steaks to room temperature and season to your liking

2.  Preheat skillet or broiler pan under broiler for 15-20 minutes

3.  Lay steaks on pan and cook for 3 minutes on each side

4.  Set oven to 500 degrees

5.  cook for 1 minute on each side for rare, 2 minutes on each side for medium

6.  Let rest

Results

20120727-085907.jpg

The one on the left is rare for my husband and the one on the right is medium for me.  I started slicing from the smaller end, so it is a little more well done in the picture below.  I don’t think my pan was hot enough as I didn’t get the searing I was hoping for.  I also used a oregano, olive oil, adobo marinade that was kind of bland for my steak (although it had worked on my lamb chops previously).

20120727-085916.jpg

I sat back, relaxed with a glass of wine and my dinner.  I enjoyed the quiet solitude of my house for the last few hours.  It was a nice evening.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

