Dinner By Dagny

Not just food, food with flavor

Fresh Peach Cobbler Take 2 with a Rum Caramel Sauce

My husband enjoyed his momma’s peach cobbler so much, he picked up peaches from the farmer’s market.  Like usual, I decided ahead of time to mix it up a little, but I didn’t quite realize how much I’d have to do so.  It was sort of a series of unfortunate events that turned out better than expected. It seemed that my cupbards were a little bare of the original ingredients.  So I improvised.

We invited some friends over, and therefore I had a reason to make the peach cobbler.  I had been holding off for time reasons as well as not wanting to make an entire pan for just me and my husband.  This is definitely a recipe that needs you have the ingredients prepped before you start.   I didn’t quite do that which accounts for many of my issues.  Although had I done it, I don’t know that it would have turned out the same.  I got the pan out, put it in the oven to preheat with the butter.  I got my stool out so I could reach the flour, and determined I didn’t have any whole wheat flour.  No worries, I used only all-purpose flour.  I reached for the sugar and found I had only brown sugar.  So I used that, but cut it down significantly.  As you might have figured out, I’m a big fan of adding alcohol to food.  This especially applies to baked goods.  My intentions were to let the peaches soak in about 1/2 cup of rum, but I misjudged and poured 3/4 of a cup.  There was only a little bit left in the bottle, and I didn’t want to waste it so I added that as well for a total of 1 cup rum.  I followed the recipe pretty well after that.

I had some leftover cobbler and was heading to a girlfriend’s birthday party.  This friend has quite the sweet tooth so I thought I would make a batch of caramel rum sauce to accompany it. I followed this recipe pretty closely, with the exception of the one necessary substitution (and no, it was to add more rum).

Peach Cobbler

Original Ingredients

9×13 pan

1 cup of whole wheat flour

1 cup all porpuse flour

2 cups sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

2 cups of milk

6-8 peaches, peeled and sliced

1/4 cup butter

Dagny’s Ingredients

9×13 pan

2 cup all porpuse flour

1 1/4 cup brown sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup of milk

1 cup rum

6 peaches, peeled and sliced

1/4 cup butter

Directions

1.  Put butter in pan and put pan in oven while its pre-heating to 350 degrees

2.  Mix flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and milk together

3.  Pour batter in on top of melted butter

4.  Layer fruit across entire pan

5.  Bake for 1 hour, check cobbler for doneness.  It may need an extra 15 minutes

Caramel Rum Sauce

Ingredients

2 cups brown sugar

1/4 cup cornstarch

1 1/3 cup milk

1 cup water

1/2 cup light corn syrup

1/4 cup butter

1/4 cup rum

2 teaspoons vanilla

Directions

1.  Combine sugar, cornstarch, milk, corn syrup and water in a heavy saucepan

2. Cook over medium heat until thickened and bubbly

3.  Cook for additional couple of minutes

4.  Remove from heat and add rum, vanilla and butter

5.  Stir to mix in butter

6.  Let stand at room temperature until cooled

*Can be stored in fridge up to 2 months

Results

The peach cobbler was definitely different than my mother-in-law’s, but it was equally good.  It went perfect with a little vanilla ice cream, or dipped in the caramel rum sauce.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Fresh Peach Cobbler Take 2 with a Rum Caramel Sauce

  1. Strawberries dipped in the caramel rum sauce were also a hit, while tortilla chips were not good vessels.

Leave a Reply

