Dinner By Dagny

Not just food, food with flavor

Fresh Peach Cobbler, Green Chili Sauce and A Week in the Country

My husband’s family hails from Oklahoma and while my kids go back a few times a year, I only ever visit ever few years.  Since I had the time and I hadn’t been in a while, I decided I would venture out for a week.  I could meet my nephew, who is almost 2, and enjoy the 100+ degree heat.  Although, when I arrived a little over a week ago, it was cooler in Tulsa than it was in Washington, DC.

My in laws live in Oilton, a little town about an 1 and 1/2 hours from Tulsa.  They live in a 3 bedroom house with outbuildings for a library and an art studio (my mother in law is a writer/teacher and my step father in law is a master pastelist).  There are also 2 chicken coops and a decent size garden (below picture is of the garden with 1 chicken coop and the library in the background).  My mother in law does a lot of canning and freezing of fruits and vegetables for the winter. For this particular visit, and apparently for about the last month, they have been living with limited cell signal and no satellite internet.

My mother in law started our vacation by asking if anyone would be interested in going to the farmer’s market on saturday morning.  I love the farmer’s market and volunteered, until she told me that she’s wasn’t going to “shop” but rather to sell some of the 15+ dozen eggs she had in her refrigerator.  She adds about 9-12 eggs a day, and my family did their part to keep inventory in check (3-5 eggs between my girls, 2 for my husband, 1-2 for me, plus the 4-5 for my in laws).  Fresh eggs have much more yellow yokes and the egg whites tend to much thicker.

Needless to say, she sold 7 dozen eggs but brought home 1/2 bushel of fresh peaches, 6 pounds of okra and 20 pounds of tomatoes, which she canned almost immediately.

20120715-150020.jpg

These were some of the best peaches I have had in a really long time. I definitely indulged myself with 4-5 peaches a day.  My mother in law also used some of these peaches to make a very delicious Peach Cobbler.

Sharon’s Peach Cobbler (although I should probably attribute it to her mother)

Ingredients

9×13 pan

1 cup of whole wheat flour

1 cup all porpuse flour

2 cups sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

2 cups of milk

6-8 peaches, peeled and sliced (this can be any fruit you want, however the juicier peaches seemed to work better than the blackberries.  If you choose to use berries, I would recommend macerating the berries with a little bit of the sugar)

1/4 cup butter

Directions

1.  Put butter in pan and put pan in oven while its pre-heating to 350 degrees

2.  Mix flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and milk together

3.  Pour batter in on top of melted butter

4.  Layer fruit across entire pan

5.  Bake for 1 hour, check cobbler for doneness.  It may need an extra 15 minutes

20120715-150044.jpg

I am not a big desert person.  I don’t really like chocolate or anything too sweet.  This had a perfect balance of sweetness and fresh fruit.

In addition to the fresh peaches, I also was spoiled with lots of garden fresh tomatoes.

20120715-150013.jpg

These cherry tomatoes were brought over by a friend.  These were really good too, but I had to compete with my youngest daughter for these.  When I left, there was just a handful left for her.

20120715-150025.jpg

Fresh Green Chili Sauce

I have mentioned before that enchiladas are one of my specialties.  Within the last year, I found a way to bring store bought green chili sauce up to my liking and have incorporated that into my enchiladas.  Despite the fact that I made enchiladas on July 4th, I made them again while we were in Oklahoma.  When I raised the question on what I should do about the green chili sauce, I was volunteered the use of a couple of bags of frozen green chilis from New Mexico.  I was then left with the task of figuring out how to turn that into fresh green chili sauce.

Ingredients

3 garlic cloves

5 tomatillos

1/2 onion

2 cups frozen green chilis

1 jalapeño

1/2 cup cilantro

juice of one lime

1-2 green tomatoes

Directions

1.  Chop ingredients to size appropriate for food processor or blender

2.  Blend until all ingredients are finely chopped

2.  Add salt/pepper to taste

Results

It was as simple as that.  I did learn that the chilis I used had quite a kick.  Unfortunately, I was starting to cook pretty late in the evening and I was concerned about getting people fed rather than taking pictures.  The sauce was vibrant and bright.  If I had more time, I would probably have put into into a saucepan and let it simmer together for a little bit.

All in all, it would was good visit.  We had access to some fantastic farm fresh food and good company.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Fresh Peach Cobbler, Green Chili Sauce and A Week in the Country

  1. Oh, I would love to have an art studio in the woods. How beautiful, and the peach cobbler looks great!

  2. It is peaceful there. As for the peach cobbler, the picture showed we clearly enjoyed it.

  3. Marsha on said:

    Dagny, you are correct. That was Mom’s cobbler. We had it often. It is simple, but good. However, Mom never used whole wheat flour. Sharon has made a great recipe healthier.

Leave a Reply

