Dinner By Dagny

Not just food, food with flavor

Broiled Pork Chops and Pineapple

Summer has started and my kids are starting their adventures this week.  Currently, this means one girl is in Luray, VA with Lolo (AKA grandpa) and the other is at home with us.  I asked the one at home what she wanted for dinner and, no surprise, she wanted macaroni & cheese.  She had also picked out some broccoli from the farmer’s market and I thought that would work with whatever protein I chose.

Unfortunately, our grill is on its last leg and is temperamental enough that I can’t use it.  This is leaving my choices as stovetop or oven.  I was already baking the macaroni & cheese so decided I would broil the pork chops.  Additionally, I had some leftover pineapple and absolutely love grilled pineapple.  If you have never tried grilled pineapple, definitely do so this summer.  The natural sugars caramelize and they are delicious.  Since I couldn’t grill them, I hoped that broiling them would accomplish the same thing.

My macaroni & cheese recipe stays pretty much the same, however you can easily mix it up a little bit with the cheese you have available.  I checked my fridge for any open packets and had a couple tablespoons of shredded parmesan, a little bit of sharp cheddar, and a little less than half a cup of ricotta.  I used all of these as my starting point and then threw in a some mixed shredded cheddar  and sprinkled it on top.  The ricotta made it extra creamy.

Ingredients

3 pork chops

Adobo, cracked black pepper, worcestershire sauce for seasoning

2 cups fresh broccoli

6 pieces fresh pineapple

Directions

1.  Season pork chops with worcestershire sauce, adobo and cracked black pepper on each side

2.  Turn oven to broil on high

3.  Broil pork chops for 5-8 minutes per side (depending on thickness)

4.  Broil pineapple for 4 minutes on each side

5.  Let pork chops rest for 5-10 minutes before eating

Broccoli was simply steamed with a little water.

Results

This is a really simple, quick dinner preparation.  You could season the pork chops ahead of time, but it isn’t a requirement.  By now, you have probably figured out that I like vegetables.  If I have the ingredients in the house, I try to throw together a salad to complement each meal.  This one has spinach and tomatoes from the farmer’s market, yellow pepper, red onion and green olives.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

