Dinner By Dagny

Not just food, food with flavor

Crockpot Lamb Stew

I picked up bone-in lamb for stew meat at the grocery store imagining the rich, flavorful stew I could make from it. Of course, I didn’t actually have a recipe though. I knew I could do this in my crockpot on one of our busy evenings. When it came time to look for a recipe, I came across this one by Munchie Musings. Originally I thought I would defer the whole dredging in flour and browning, but after reading her compelling arguments on the additional flavor I changed my mind.

My vegetable choice had to do more with my family and my own personal tastes than anything else. Potatoes, onions and carrots are standard stew vegetables, but I enjoy mushrooms and my oldest daughter is a huge fan of fingerling potatoes, especially after she grew them last summer. So, I did fingerling potatoes, baby carrots, baby bellas, pearl onions and parsnips (recipe recommended the last two). I wasn’t sure what my girls would say about the parsnips, but they didn’t even notice them. They must have thought they were white carrots or another type of potato.

Ingredients

2 pounds bone in lamb meat

Adobo

Fresh cracked pepper

1/2 cup flour

2 tablespoons olive oil

12 oz bottle Guiness

1 1/2 cups fingerling potatoes

1 cup baby carrots

1 cup baby portabellas

2 med parsnips, peeled and chopped

3 cups water

3 chicken bouillon cubes

1/2 teaspoon thyme

2 tablespoons cold roux (olive oil and flour)

Directions

1. Cut lamb meat off bone and into bite size pieces

20120608-095959.jpg

2. Toss lamb meat with flour, Adobo and pepper

3. Heat olive oil in large pan and saute lamb meat until brown

20120608-100035.jpg

4. Once all meat has been browned, brown bones

20120608-100048.jpg

20120608-100054.jpg

5. Deglaze pan with Guiness, scraping bits off the bottom of pan

6. Put lamb, bones, beer, scrapings and all vegetables in crockpot

20120608-100101.jpg

20120608-100106.jpg

7. Season vegetables with Adobo, pepper and thyme

20120608-100111.jpg

8. Cook on low for 6.5 hours, until the meat falls off the bone and vegetables are tender

9. Add roux and let sit on warm for another 30-60 mins

20120608-100118.jpg

Results

I got exactly what I expected.  A rich, hearty stew with tender meat and perfectly cooked vegetables.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Crockpot Lamb Stew

  1. I cannot abide the taste of Guiness as a drink (although I like other beers) but I had a beef stew made with it one time and it was excellent!

    • I’m not a beer drinker in any capacity, although my husband will take it in all forms including home brew. That said, I have cooked with beer before (and often cook with other alcohol) so I wasn’t too considered about any lingering flavor.

  2. Well that just looks good. This looks wonderful – love lamb

Leave a Reply

