Dinner By Dagny

Not just food, food with flavor

Tandoori Salmon

 

If you haven’t figured it out by now, I love to cook and I get inspiration from anywhere. I usually ignore the magazines in the grocery store isles unless of course the headline is pretty compelling. “5 Ingredient & 15 Minute Recipes” on the Cooking Light magazine won me over. While there were a lot of weird combinations, I did find a few things I thought I would try. One was this Tandoori Salmon and another was a curry paste marinated flank steak (which I’m doing tonight and I’ll post it another day).

My youngest daughter asked for pasta to be served along side the fish. I acquiesced somewhat. I heated up some red tomato sauce for her and made a quick lemon, caper, olive oil dressing for mine. I also paired this with some roasted brussel sprouts.

I don’t have a lot of pictures because this meal was super simple to put together, and fairly quick too.

Ingredients

1 teaspoon ground ginger

1 teaspoon ground turmeric

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon Adobo

1/4 teaspoon ground pepper

4 salmon fillets

1 bag fresh brussel sprouts

2 tablespoons olive oil

3/4 cup greek yogurt

1/4 chopped cilantro

1-2 garlic cloves chopped

3 tablespoons lemon juice

1 handful arugula

1 tablespoon capers

parmesan to taste

Salmon Directions

1. Mix ginger, turmeric, cumin, Adobo and pepper in small bowl

2. Rub spice mixture over salmon

3. Broil 9 minutes

Pasta Directions

1. Boil 1/2 pound pasta per package directions

2. Drain pasta

3. Drizzle with olive oil and lemon juice

4. Add in arugula and capers

5. Season with adobo, pepper and parmesan cheese

Roasted Brussel Sprout Directions

1. Remove any brown leaves off brussel sprouts

2. Rinse brussel sprouts

3. Place in baking dish

4. Drizzle with olive oil and season with adobo and pepper

5. Broil for 7-9 minutes on each side (there should be some charring)

Cilantro Yogurt Directions

1. Combine yogurt, garlic, lemon juice and cilantro

2. Chill for 15-20 minutes

20120531-170351.jpg

Results

While I know that this is a very simple tandoori, the spices worked well on the salmon and it went really well with the brussel sprouts and light pasta. My dad did a little more research and made a more traditional tandoori spice blend (from my inspiration) for his tilapia, with a side of grilled bok choy. He declared it the best meal ever, so I think it must be a winner. Hopefully, he’ll post his link as a comment.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Tandoori Salmon

  1. Interesting idea… must try that!

  2. It definitely works as another simple spice blend for fish. I bet it would work on chicken too. With a little bit of oil, tofu might work if you wanted to venture there.
    I had the leftovers for lunch this week, either with salad, the leftover pasta and as salmon bites on cracked pepper triscuits with a little bit of the yogurt sauce.

  3. Pingback: Grilled Spicy Fish and Grilled Bok Choy « Coffee Pot Cooking

Leave a Reply

