Dinner By Dagny

Not just food, food with flavor

Thai Cilantro Pork Chops

I was perusing Pinterest and stumbled across this Cilantro Thai Grilled Chicken on my friend Nicole’s board and was inspired not only to try it, but also to create a new board of my own, for all the things that I see online and want to try (Dinner by Dagny Things to Try).

When we we were looking something to cook for mother’s day dinner, I knew that I had some pork chops in the freezer and this marinade came to mind. I made some modifications to it after following the recipe yielded a flavor a tad too salty. Nothing a little lime juice couldn’t solve.  But, in all, I stayed true to the Thai inspiration and flavor profile. We ate it with green beans sauted with spring onions (from my husband’s garden) and corn on the cob.  I was pleased with the outcome.

Ingredients

6 pork chops

4 cloves garlic chopped

3/4 cup cilantro chopped

3 tablespoons fish sauce

1 1/2 tablespoons sesame oil

Juice of 1 1/2 limes

1/2 habanero pepper chopped

1 pound green beans

3 spring onions chopped

1-2 tablespoons olive oil

5-6 corn cobs

Directions

1.  Grind garlic, cilantro, fish sauce, sesame oil, habanero and lime juice together using mortar and pestle (you can also use blender or food processor)

2.  Pour marinade of pork chops and rub into meat

3.  Let sit for minimum of 15 minutes.  (I let it sit for several hours in pan covered with plastic wrap)

20120521-215847.jpg

4.  Grill on medium heat for 30 minutes, flipping over at 15 minutes

5.  Saute green beans with olive oil and spring onions

6.  Bring large pot of water to a boil with a tablespoon of sugar.  Add corn cobs and cook for 5 minutes covered.  Turn off heat and let sit for 7-10 minutes.

20120521-215856.jpg

Results

This was a perfect mother’s day meal.  My husband jokes that it was my day off, since he grilled.  It doesn’t matter as I enjoy cooking and trying new things in the kitchen.  This is definitely on the things to eat again list.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

