Dinner By Dagny

Not just food, food with flavor

Drunken Cherry Mixed Berry Scones

I’m a big believer in breakfast. I don’t know if that is because I get cranky when I don’t eat or if my mother did such a good job ingraining “breakfast as the most important meal of the day” as a mantra. I do distinctly remember a point where my mom read an article about eating breakfast being critical to doing well in school. While I usually ate a bowl of cereal or some toast, this triggered her willingness to cook me eggs or french toast too. It worked for me.

Anyway, I also get pretty bored of eating the same things. I had about 1/4 cup of craisins left and saw this blackberry scone recipe and got inspired. Of course, I had some leftover black cherry cruzan rum in my cabinet too (as we hadn’t yet figured out what it went well with aside from the crucian confusion we made with it the last time). I promptly added the craisins and equal amount black cherry rum to a cup and let it sit overnight (covered in the refrigerator, of course).

My daughter gets home early on Mondays therefore I asked her if she wanted to help. She agreed and then told me how to do it (and when I veered away from the recipe, got a little concerned).

Ingredients

1/4 cup craisins drunken in 1/4 cup black cherry rum (although any rum will do)

3 cups flour

1/2 cup sugar

2 1/2 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tbsp lime zest (the only citrus available in the house)

4 tbsp cold butter, cubed

1 cup sour milk (mix 1 tbsp lemon juice with enough milk to make 1 cup and let sit for 5 minutes)

~5.75 ounces of blueberries and strawberries (you need 6 total ounces of berries. I had the drunken craisins, plus some fresh blueberries and some diced strawberries)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees

2. Mix flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, baking soda and lime zest together in a large bowl

3. Cut in cold butter until you have crumbly flour

4. Stir in berries (drain the rum, but reserve it) and sour milk

5. Mix dough with hands to break up berries

6. Form scones on a parchment paper lined baking sheet (original recipe suggested using tablespoon making 12-16 scones. I free formed the scones, which made 8 large ones. I would recommend some middle compromise)

20120509-215732.jpg

7. Bake for 15-17 minutes

20120509-215744.jpg

20120509-215750.jpg

Results

These were really good.  They were a little big, but we ate them anyway.  The drunken cherry rum, combined with the craisins, blueberries and strawberries worked well together.  The scones were moist and crumbly, just as they should be.

I’m not big on icing or sugary drizzle so I skipped over that part, but I did use the leftover rum.  I added lemonade and it made for quite the refreshing cocktail.  I just had another thought regarding the rum and a rum based caramel drizzle, I might be able to handle.  I’ll just have to make another round and try it.

20120509-215756.jpg

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Drunken Cherry Mixed Berry Scones

  1. Easy recipe to create delicious not dry scones! I used lime juice instead for the sour milk and a combination of drunken crasins, strawberries, blackberries and raspberries as this is what was in my fridge. My colleagues loved them!

Leave a Reply

