Dinner By Dagny

Not just food, food with flavor

Crockpot Beef Stroganoff

Beef stroganoff is one of those meals I remember from my childhood.  I think it was one of my mom’s favorites, but I could just be making that up.  I saw some thin pieces of round steak and decided that I would make beef stroganoff.  My kids don’t love mushrooms, but they do like pork chops with mushroom gravy, so that’s the way I pitched it.  I said it was steak with homemade mushroom gravy, usually called beef stroganoff.

I was also pretty sure that I could do this in my crockpot so went in search of a recipe.  Unfortunately most of the recipes call for several cans of cream of X soup, but that wasn’t what I was looking for.  I wanted the traditional recipe (where sour cream is added to make it creamy), just modified for the crock pot.  Fortunately, I was able to find one that was true to what I expected (thanks recipe gir!).  My kids did enjoy it leaving only a single serving as leftovers, so that’s good.

Ingredients

1 1/2 lbs steak, sliced into chunks

~ 1 lb baby portabellas sliced (I ended up using not quite one carton)

1 onion chopped

2 tbsp tomato paste

1 cup beef broth

1/2 cup red wine (that’s what was open)

3/4 cup sour cream

2 tbsp corn startch

Adobo and cracked black pepper to taste

1/2 bag cooked whole wheat noodles

Directions

1.  Combine beef, mushrooms, onions, tomato paste, wine and beef broth

2.  Cover and cook for 5 1/2 hours on low

3.  In a small bowl combine sour cream and corn starch.  Add to crockpot and mix

4.  Cook an additional 30 minutes until sauce thickens

20120507-131352.jpg

 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Crockpot Beef Stroganoff

  1. Susan S on said:

    Hm, that’s a good idea, using the sour cream as the vehicle to get the corn starch into the pool with no lumps. I usually scoop out about a cup of liquid and make a slurry, often straining it on the way back in.

  2. I’ve done it that way as well, although I never bothered to strain it. The results were about the same.

Leave a Reply

