Dinner By Dagny

Not just food, food with flavor

Honey Garlic Wings with Twice Baked Potatoes

This week was pretty interesting in that on top of all our usual craziness of balancing work, school, karate, lacrosse, girls on the run and soccer, my husband had several evening outings including the Caps game and the Nats game.  This left just me and the girls for dinner most nights and I wanted to do something “fun” for dinner.  They love chicken drumsticks and chicken wings, so I thought that would be something that I could liven up and they could have fun eating.  Potatoes were on sale this week at the grocery store (buy 1 get 1 free on 5 pound bags).  That’s a lot of potatoes that I need to figure out how to use.  Who doesn’t love potatoes smothered in cheese (apparently my daughter, but we’ll get to that later).

I envisioned yummy honey garlic wings.  I found several recipes for honey soy wings, but most didn’t have any garlic so I kept looking.  I found this recipe on the foodess blog and the pictures were exactly what I was looking for.  I found this basic twice baked potato recipe as a starting point. I only focused on the proportion of ingredients and only added cheese, mostly because I was too lazy to cook bacon and my kids don’t like blue cheese so that wasn’t even a consideration.

Ingredients

7 decent size potatoes (I chose the largest potatoes from the bag but they weren’t super big.  This was 1 potato per person plus 1 extra to increase the filling amount)

~1 tbsp olive oil

1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

3/4 cup sour cream

1/2 cup milk

4 tbsp butter

1/2 cup low sodium soy sauce

3/4 cup honey

6 cloves garlic, minced

1 tsp sesame oil

1/8 tsp cayenne pepper

3 lbs chicken party wings

Honey Garlic Wings Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 400 degrees

2.  Double line a rimmed baking sheet with foil (I forgot this part so had mild sticking and a difficult cleanup time with the pan)

3.  In large mixing bowl, mix soy sauce, honey, garlic, sesame oil and cayenne pepper

4.  Add chicken wings and toss to coat.  Let marinate at least an hour (I did it for 2 tossing the wings every 30 minutes)

5.  Remove wings from marinade and spread in single layer on baking sheet.  Reserve marinade.

6.  Bake wings for 35 minutes, brushing wings every 10 minutes (for first 20 minutes, but not during last 10 minutes) with reserved marinade

7.  Boil marinade down over until thick and syrupy (I did this for about 35 minutes on medium low) which allowed me to watch it more closely.  The mixture can get burnt pretty quickly if not paying attention

8.  Remove wings to bowl or platter and toss with remaining marinade syrup

Twice Baked Potatoes Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 400 degrees

2.  Wash potatoes, poke with a fork and rub with a little olive oil

3.  Bake potatoes for approximately 1 hour and 15 minutes directly on oven rack.  Potatoes should be thoroughly cooked through and therefore give a little

4.  Allow potatoes to cool to touch

5.  Cut potatoes in half and scoop out centers, keeping skins intact

6.  Mash potato centers and mix with butter, sour cream, milk and cheese together

7.  Scoop potato filling back into potato skins and bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes

Results

I thought the wings were pretty addictive.  They were everything I had hoped for.  And the twice baked potato went with it perfectly.  It was creamy and cheesy.  I thought it was a success when my oldest daughter went in for a second helping on the wings.  She had already complained about the twice baked potatoes as I don’t make these regularly, and therefore her only point of reference is the ones they provide at school with the disgusting “cheese sauce.”  Just for the record, I have never used a nasty cheese sauce on anything, so I’m not sure how she thought I would start with this recipe.

Anyway, my oldest daughter finished eating and proclaimed “you can make this again…but don’t add cheese to the potatoes and don’t use the sauce on the wings.”  I explained that the potatoes without cheese were merely baked potatoes and the wings without sauce were just baked wings and if that’s what she wanted, she really didn’t want me to cook this meal again.  She insisted that I could, but only if I made the adjustments she recommended.  I guess it’s all symantecs and everyone’s entitled to their own opinions.

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Honey Garlic Wings with Twice Baked Potatoes

  1. Reblogged this on Coffee Pot Cooking and commented:
    After my one day celebration of life where I gained five pounds, I decided a cleanse was in order and made meatless Bok Choy and Twice Baked Potatoes. Of course I used my Daughter”s Recipe.

  2. Thank you. I hope you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

