Dinner By Dagny

Not just food, food with flavor

Mediterranean Chicken Pasta

As a process, cooking often starts with an ingredient. I often don’t know what I am going to do with it, until I start. This recipe was pretty indicative of that. I was planning on chicken and knew that I wanted to use my crockpot for the majority of the work as it was our annual spring karate tournament and the family would be out all day. I started searching for cockpit chicken recipes online, but it took a while for inspiration to set in. Most of the recipes were variations of smothered cream of xxxxx (you name it) soup. That seemed a little heavy for me.

My youngest daughter asked if we could have pasta so that also added another element to the mix. So this left me with only a few options for a lighter, tasty crockpot chicken recipe that could be served over pasta. I finally came across this Greek chicken recipe that I thought could make work.

Ingredients

3 pounds boneless chicken breast
1 can diced tomatoes
1/2 jar marinated artichoke hearts
1/2 jar kalamata olives
1 small can sliced black olives
1/2 bag frozen broccoli
3 tbsp olive oil
3 tbsp white wine
3 tsp minced garlic
2 tbsp oregano
3 tsp Adobo
Feta to garnish
1 box whole wheat rotini

Directions

1. Add olive oil, white wine, minced garlic, oregano, and Adobo to crockpot and mix together
2. Add chicken breasts and turn to coat
3. Add in tomatoes, artichoke hearts and kalamata olives. Stir
4. Cook on low for approximately 8 hours (my crockpot has a meat probe that allows you to cook until the meat reaches a specific temperature. I used that but the time is also correct)
5. Add in black olives
6. Optional – thicken sauce by making a cold rue of olive oil and flour and add in a cup cooking liquid. Add back to crockpot and stir
7. Cook pasta per box instructions to al dente (approx 9 mins). Add in broccoli after 2 mins, for approx 7 mins cooking time
8. Toss with crockpot mixture

Results
This was a great way to end our evening. Everybody enjoyed it.

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

