Dinner By Dagny

Not just food, food with flavor

Roast Chicken with Roasted Root Vegetables

One of the simplest and tastiest dish in my repertoire is roast chicken.  It really isn’t that difficult, but until recently, I only had the time to do this on the weekend.  You do need a couple of hours to cook it, but if you have planned appropriately, you have enough for dinner, leftovers and still some tidbits on the carcass left to make a hearty pot of soup.   Unfortunately, I have also learned that I need a minimum of a 5-6 pound chicken for it to manage all this for my family.  I purchased a 3-4 pound whole chicken a couple of weeks ago, and my kids had devoured it so there wasn’t enough for my husband or any subsequent meals.

Ingredients

1 whole chicken (I used a 7.5 pound oven roaster)

lemon juice

Adobo, fresh ground pepper, thyme, oregano and paprika

1 each of medium sweet potato, white potato, turnip, beets

olive oil

wine, broth or water for basting chicken

Chicken Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2.  Make sure to remove the hearts, livers, necks from the cavity of the chicken.  I will usually put these at the bottom of the roasting pan to make the pan drippings more rich

3.  Rub down entire chicken, inside and out, with lemon juice (This is a habit I picked up from my parents, who I believed picked it up in St. Croix.  I think it was originally for sanitation reasons, but then stuck around because it adds a nice flavor and makes the skin brown and crispy)

4.  Season chicken thoroughly with Adobo, fresh ground pepper, thyme, oregano and paprika

5.  Place chicken on rack in roasting pan

6.  Put in oven for appropriate cooking time.  I use 20 minutes per pound which equates to approximately 2 1/2 hours

7.  Every 30 minutes, baste chicken with basting liquid (I used a light red wine I had on hand)

Roasted Root Vegetables Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 425 degrees

2.  Peel and cube root vegetables

3.  Drizzle root vegetables with olive oil and season with Adobo and fresh ground pepper

4.  Cover with foil and roast in oven for 30 minutes, until vegetables are tender

5.  Uncover and broil vegetables for 5 additional minuts to add additional color and texture

I served the roast chicken and roasted vegetables with green beans, a mixed vegetable salad and homemade cranberry sauce.

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

