Dinner By Dagny

Not just food, food with flavor

Tuna Puttanesca

I got inspired by this week’s Iron Chef episode, where the secret ingredient was canned tuna.  I knew we had some canned tuna in the house and I figured that I would turn it into a puttanesca sauce.  I knew that it would work, and I had previously made sure that I had capers and anchovies in the house as staples.  I just need to swing by the store for some kalamata olives.

I was inspired by Rachael Ray’s Tuna Puttanesca, combined with Poppa John’s Puttanesca recipes. I combined recipes and threw some of my own influence in.

Ingredients

1 can tuna (I used albacore in water)

1 small onion

4 garlic cloves

3 anchovies

1/3 cup rum

12 small kalamata olives

1 tablespoon capers

1 teaspoon red pepper flakes

 1 ice cube frozen chili pepper slurry (~2 ounces)

1 can diced tomatoes (14.5 ounces)

1 tablespoon parsley

Directions

1.  Chop onions and garlic

2.  Heat a couple of tablespoons of olive oil in a saucepan over medium heat

3.  Add onions, garlic and anchovies, saute 2-3 minutes breaking anchovies up as it cooks

4.  Add red pepper flakes, tuna.  Break tuna up with spoon as it cooks

5.  Chop olives.  Add olives and capers to pan and cook for 1-2 minutes

6.  Add rum and let it cook down

7.  Add pepper slurry and tomatoes.  Thoroughly mix and let simmer for about 5 minutes

8.  I added the penne pasta directly into the pan to allow it to cook for last couple minutes and soak up the sauce

I served the pasta with a little bit of cheese on top and a side salad.

Results

My husband was a little skeptical until he tasted it.  He decided it was good and that he wanted some leftovers for lunch.  For a man that really doesn’t like leftovers, this was a good outcome.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Tuna Puttanesca

  1. Reblogged this on Coffee Pot Cooking and commented:
    There are probably an infinite number of ways to combine the ingredients in an Italian Kitchen.

Leave a Reply

