Dinner By Dagny

Not just food, food with flavor

Quick and simple beef chili

Wikipedia defines chili as an abbreviation of “chili con carne” or “a spicy stew containing chili peppers and meat.”  Commonly, chili also includes tomatoes and beans.  Personal preference can dictate the type of meat, beans and spice level.   Chili has its own group of aficionados, and you can find vegetarian chili, chili verde, white chili and a whole slew of other variations.   When talking about chili competitions, chili tends to be slow cooked for several hours.  Since I’m cooking for my family, I usually make a mild chili that allows individuals to add hot sauce to kick it up to their liking.  This is a quick and simple variation for easy family dinners.  In this recipe I’m using 90% lean ground meat and red kidney beans because this is what I have in the house. I have often substituted with ground turkey and black beans.

Ingredients

1 medium onion diced

1.5 pounds ground beef

1 can diced tomatoes (I used pepper and onion, but you can use any variation you want.  I did not use one with jalapeno because I was going to add 1 frozen cube of chili pepper green slurry that I saved after making Chicken Posole.

1 can red kidney beans drained and rinsed

1 cube frozen chili pepper green slurry

Adobo, pepper, chili powder to taste

*hot sauce can be added for spice level to the entire chili pot or to each individual serving

Directions

1.  Over medium heat, saute onion in olive oil about 3 minutes

2.  Add ground meat to pan and start to brown it, breaking it into pieces

3.  Season with adobo, pepper, chili powder

4.  After meat starts to brown, but before it is fully cooked through, add the tomatoes, beans and chili pepper green slurry

5.  Simmer for ~20 minutes

6. Taste and adjust seasoning levels as desired

I served it with some fresh baked bread from the bakery and had a side salad.  I like my chili plain, however my kids enjoy adding shredded cheese.  You could also add a dollop of sour cream, a handful of chives, some fresh chopped tomatoes, chopped cilantro or many more variations.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

