Dinner By Dagny

Not just food, food with flavor

Beef with Peperoncini

Adding a little alcohol to my cooking is a pretty common occurrence.  This includes a splash of rum in the curry, wine to deglaze a pan, baste poultry or as liquid for steaming fish.  I’ve even been known to drunken the berries before baking them in cookies or muffins.  Combined this with my husband’s home brew hobby, and the “Cooking with Beer” magazine for $4.99 was a no-brainer in the grocery store line.

I bought it as I thought maybe it would inspire my husband to cook something yummy with his new found hobby, but after it sat on the counter for about 6 months, I finally got around to looking at it.  There were a couple of recipes that sounded interesting, but this “Spicy Italian Beef” seemed right for the family.  It wasn’t just the beer or beef, but the inclusion of peperoncini which my family loves, and the fact that it allowed me to break out my new crockpot, made it seem like an obvious choice.

I mentioned it to my cousin Cait and my neighbor Susie to get some preliminary feedback.  They both thought it sounded delicious and wanted to come over for dinner the night I made it.

The actual recipe for “Spicy Italian Beef”:

1 boneless beef chuck roast (3 or 4 pounds), trimmed of fat

1 jar (12 ounces) peperoncini, drained and stems removed, plus additional for serving

1 can (about 14 ounces) beef broth

1 bottle (12 ounces beer)

1 onion, minced

2 tablespoons Italian seasoning

1 loaf french bread, cut into thick slices

Directions:

1.  Add beef, jar of peperoncini, broth, beer, onion and Italian seasoning to slow cooker, do not stir.  Cover; cook on LOW  to 10 hours.

2.  Remove meat from slow cooker; shred with 2 forks.  Return shredded meat to slow cooker; mix well. Serve meat mixture on french bread with additional sauce from slow cooker and additional peperoncini, if desired.

Dagny’s Modifications: 

I mostly stayed true to the recipe on this one since I hadn’t made it before.  That said, I used

  • 4 – 5 pounds beef.  I cut the meat into big chunks, to fit better in the crockpot.
  • 1 16 ounce jar of peperoncini
  • 1 bottle Corona (recipe didn’t specify beer type, but I sought out the experts — Poppa John (my daddy) and husband for suggestions)
  • I didn’t have the combined “Italian” seasoning, but I had garlic powder, tomato pesto, and italian mixes, for dipping sauces, like rosemary & garlic, sundried tomato & basil and garlic & tomato.  I mixed a teaspoon of each of the seasonings together and looked for the Italian flavoring of garlic, basil, oregano, rosemary to shine.
  • 1 spoon to stir
  • Adobo and pepper.  About 7 hours into the cooking time, I checked the meet for both flavor and done-ness.  Neither was to my liking, so I added Adobo and pepper and changed the temperature to high for the last hour that I was going to be cooking it.
  • While I served it with the french bread, I also added a side dish of buttered noodles (in case it worked better than the soggy bread) and roasted cauliflower with olive oil, lemon juice, and garlic, sprinkled with parmesan cheese. Susie brought the wine and the salad.

The results:

  • It was pretty good.  My family, Cait and Susie all really enjoyed it.  My husband, who isn’t really a pot roast fan, didn’t speak for 5 minutes, while he thoroughly enjoyed his dinner.  He even went so far as to ask for it for it to be packed as leftovers for the next day’s lunch.
  • We decided that it shouldn’t be called “Spicy” as there was not anything spicy about the meal, so we changed the name to Beef with Peperoncini.
  • The original recipe said that it would feed 10-12 people.  I increased the amount of meat to between 4-5 pounds and only have 2 servings left.

And yes, I know that everyone wants to see what it looks like, but I forgot to take a picture.  We were all too busy eating it.  I’ll try to do better next time.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

