Dinner By Dagny

Not just food, food with flavor

Drunken Apples with Cinnamon Whipped Cream

I happened to have had 3 granny smith apples lying around, that hadn’t been eaten at their freshest point and were now just lingering in my kitchen. I knew by feel that they were still good enough to eat, and definitely good enough to use for baking. Even more inspiring was this bourbon baked apples recipe I saw. My baking and cooking (and drinking) of choice usually involves rum, so that made the most sense. Furthermore, it was the end of a long weekend and a relatively quiet Sunday. I invited my cousin over with enticements of drunken apples. When I showed her the recipe and told her that I was going to use rum, and that we needed to make some adjustments to account for 1/2 the apples, she was game for experimentation.

The first adjustment was easy. The recipe suggested 1/3 cup bourbon for 6 apples. It seemed obvious that this measurement wouldn’t change for 3. Next came the notion that “a serving” implied 1 entire apple. That seemed a little crazy so I suggested quartering the apples and spreading the crumble on top rather than stuffing each apple with a bit.

Ingredients

3 granny smith apples

2/3 cup oats

1/3 cup cinnamon sugar (the originally recipe calls for 2/3 cup brown sugar. I had this leftover from another recipe so used it and filled in with the brown sugar)

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup softened unsalted butter

1/2 cup apple juice (or cider)

1/3 cup rum

*skipped the 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and 1 teaspoon vanilla due to the use of the cinnamon sugar

1 cup whipping cream

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon vanilla

2-3 tablespoons sugar (this is variable. If you like a sweeter whipped cream, add more sugar)

Drunken Apples Directions

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees

2. Peel and quarter apples (we had mixed reviews on the apple peel. My cousin and I suggest peeling the apples, while another indulgent participant loved the peel)

20121117-152156.jpg

3. Meanwhile, mix oats, sugar, flour, salt and butter together to make crumble

20121117-152201.jpg

4. Layer apples in baking dish

5. Pour apple juice and rum over apples

6. Sprinkle crumble over apples

20121117-152206.jpg

7. Bake apples in oven for 30-40 minutes, drizzling sauce over apples and crumble every 10 minutes, until apples are soft

20121117-152210.jpg

Cinnamon Whipped Cream Directions

1. Pour whipping cream, 2-3 tablespoons sugar, cinnamon and vanilla in a cold bowl

2. Whip using beater until peaks form

Results

20121117-152215.jpg

This tasted really good. The apple juice and rum formed a caramel, which mixed perfectly with the crumble. It was pretty rich and relatively sloppy, enough so that I told my cousin that whoever took the prettier picture is what I would post online (after I had plated my pretty sloppy one). It’s possible that I was just being a piggy. ¬†We are contemplating replacing our standard apple pie with this for holiday desert (in addition to my special pumpkin rum pie).

20121117-152222.jpg

20121117-152226.jpg

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Drunken Apples with Cinnamon Whipped Cream

  1. Can’t go wrong when baking with alcohol! Yum!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

